• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Engine makes a loud ticking sound

bourqtk

Mar 6, 2021
Truck Year
New to the group! I've had Ram trucks with Cummins since I could buy my own. I'm new to this 2020 ecodiesel though. It makes a loud ticking noise when I get on it. Is this normal? I noticed it the night I bought it. Thanks in advance!

CAVEMANN

Jan 5, 2020
Truck Year
Is it a heavy tick/knock sound, also if you can find a way to put some "load" on it while accelerating, maybe by applying brakes to see if you can tell if the tick/knock gets louder or "harder, you should be able to do those 2 tests in your driveway. Also try to tell if you can identify whether the noise is top end, bottom end, front of engine, rear of engine, towards the center or on one of the sides, or if it's elsewhere in the drivetrain.

bourqtk

Mar 6, 2021
Truck Year
Is it a heavy tick/knock sound, also if you can find a way to put some "load" on it while accelerating, maybe by applying brakes to see if you can tell if the tick/knock gets louder or "harder, you should be able to do those 2 tests in your driveway. Also try to tell if you can identify whether the noise is top end, bottom end, front of engine, rear of engine, towards the center or on one of the sides, or if it's elsewhere in the drivetrain.