• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Hypothetical modification question

Chase90

Apr 16, 2019
Truck Year
Not Listed
Hey y'all.

So I am still learning about these motors. I am really interested in getting a RAM EcoD but I want to make sure I understand what I am getting into with one.

So, hypothetically, if one were to do a turbo-back exhaust (deleting emissions junk) and GDE (or similar tune) would that help the EcoD last longer? I mean I know these motors are proving reliability but in some cases it seems that longevity has been compromised in more than a handful of engines. Obviously I know that doesn't necessarily apply across the board, as there are many motors out there with more than 100,000 and some over 200,000+. I know too that some failures could relate to how the truck was driven (I'm learning about warming up before taking off like a bat out of hell) but I'm wondering if these mods would most likely increase the longevity of the engine, given that maintenance procedures were still followed per manufacturer recommendations.