• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Well...it happened

StevenB

Mar 30, 2016
Truck Year
I’ve been raving about my EcoDiesel for the past 4 years, posting about how flawless mine has been (for the most part), and genially optimistic that I bought a “good one”.

Well...driving on the freeway today, 70-75 for about an hour and I suddenly hear a ticking sound with NO warning...one second everything is fine, the next a constant tick/knock. I exit the freeway and the Service Electronic Throttle light comes on as well as the Check Engine light. It’s knocking at idle when I come to a stop. Shut the truck off and fire it up again to move to a safer spot and there’s no ticking or knocking...check engine light is the only one still on. I drive about 50 yards and it begins knocking again, shortly followed by smoke. I quickly put it in neutral and shut it off, Coast to a safe spot and pop the hood. No fire, thankfully. Not leaks. Smells like electrical burning. Anyways, had it towed to the local dealership...wish me luck.

BoostN

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Jul 27, 2013
Truck Year
Not Listed
I’ve been raving about my EcoDiesel for the past 4 years, posting about how flawless mine has been (for the most part), and genially optimistic that I bought a “good one”.