• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

DEF?

bob1340

Jun 29, 2019
Truck Year
Not Listed
I am new to modern diesels and DEF. How long does a tank of DEF last? I have 1500 miles on my 2018 model and the gauge is at about 98% still.

cds13ca

Jun 19, 2019
Truck Year
I usually get around 3500-4000 km for 1/3 of a tank, so 10-12,000 km per tank is a guess (maybe 7000 miles)? You'll last a while, usually top some up every oil change. It's good to try to run it low so you get a fresh new tank rather than keeping 3/4 tank of old DEF in the tank and topping it up. DEF does have an expiry date, and it'll crystalize.

Keep an eye on your DEF injector, they tend to crystalize up every 4000 miles or so. You can clean up the injector really easily, just youtube search "2014 ram ecodiesel DEF injector cleaning & maintenance" for a good how-to video"

bob1340

Jun 29, 2019
Truck Year
Not Listed
Yes I searched that. Sounds like a good idea to check it at oil changes.

cds13ca

Jun 19, 2019
Truck Year
Yes I searched that. Sounds like a good idea to check it at oil changes.
I clean my injector every oil change, if not sooner, they crystalize up pretty quick. I just don't want to be throwing emission codes...

cds13ca

Jun 19, 2019
Truck Year
Sorry hit it with a steamer. It'll come off like butter

cds13ca

Jun 19, 2019
Truck Year
probably, that might be a little big.