• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

New to ecodiesel but not all diesels!

carerra3

Aug 10, 2023
Truck Year
Hello all. I am a retired mechanic that used to work on VW and Mercedes Benz diesels. I have also owned and did service work on Ram Cummins engines, but this is the first Ecodiesel I have driven. It is a 2018 1500. So far, I love the truck but have had the "service electronic throttle control" come on. The dealer replaced the MAP sensor and I drove it for about 200 miles and it came back on. Doing research, I see posts saying the EGR system has a lot of issues and can cause this problem. So, I removed the diffuser tube like many people have said and it was about 2/3 plugged with carbon. I cleaned it and reinstalled the tube. So far the message has not returned. Looking into the intake manifold, I was suprised to see so much carbon in it. The vehicle only has 55,000 miles so I assume the truck was not used much on the highway or for long drives. I do know from past experience, diesels do not do well on short trips. They do not get warm enough, especially in cold climates, so carbon and moisture can form. But, I can say, I have never seen this much. Some said that the only solution is to delete the EGR and replace the intake manifold. I have also seen where some posted the carbon build up is no issue, but being from the old school, I do not agree with that. I have also seen people have put a water/methano