• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Regen, coolant temps, smoke

Why_rick

Aug 8, 2017
Truck Year
So, I’m new with this ED and when I was leaving work today, there was a regen to do. No biggie, I’ll just hop on the freeway and drive around a bit. Engine seems to be running hot (around 240°) and during the regen, I started to have white smoke billowing out the exhaust. Is this normal? Also, after a few miles I had to head up a hill. Temp went higher and I lost power. I was able to ease it off the freeway and stopped at a lot and let it idle and cool down a bit. I think the regen is complete bit my coolant temp is still staying around 240°

John

Nov 13, 2015
White smoke leads me to believe coolant is being burned off. Power was lost due to high temps and engine being de-rated as a precaution.

Coolant could be lost through the turbo or EGR cooler along with other possibilities. Is your coolant level low?

Why_rick

Aug 8, 2017
Truck Year
White smoke leads me to believe coolant is being burned off. Power was lost due to high temps and engine being de-rated as a precaution.

Coolant could be lost through the turbo or EGR cooler along with other possibilities. Is your coolant level low?
I didn’t think to check that before, but yes, it looks like the coolant is low.

Why_rick

Aug 8, 2017
Truck Year
I didn’t think to check that before, but yes, it looks like the coolant is low.