• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Poor DEF Quality?

blahargoue

Jul 12, 2019
Truck Year
Please forgive me I'm new to this diesel world, I just picked up my 1500 about two weeks ago. Just to reiterate, every 2.5 gal of Peak DEF I pour in the tank, I also add 1 gal of Distilled Water. Is it that easy?
I've owned diesels for years but this is my first that requires DEF. I'm sure that some of the other folks on here are successfully mixing distilled water with DEF and better understand the minimum required ratios to keep from setting off trouble codes. I don't plan on diluting my DEF and like most folks I will keep following Ram's guidelines. I don't know what year your truck is, but as one of the very knowledgeable posters stated, trucks from '17 and new will set off a code if the DEF mixture is too diluted.

I'm the original poster and I simply wanted to advise folks of my issue and that was buying what was likely a bad batch of DEF. A lot of good info followed. But for me, I'm going to check the dates on the DEF I purchase and likely stick with a product that provides good quality at a good price point point. In my case, I will likely use PEAK brand DEF since it's only a couple of bucks more than Supertech when it's on sale.

Thank you to all that commented.

TC Diesel

Jul 14, 2016
Truck Year
Its not Rams Guidelines its API, You don't need 33/67 98% of driving, I tested this back in 2015-16.