• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Questions about emission system intact and deleting

Steviegiuce5

May 17, 2021
Truck Year
Hey all,
I’m Stevie and I’m new to this page. I’ve had diesel BMW’s before so I am familiar with diesel but this is my first EcoDiesel! I bought a 2014 EcoDiesel a few months ago and I have some question about it cuz German and American diesel are quite different! I want to know how you know when your EcoDiesel is doing a regen and also how do you tell when it needs a regen? I have never received a message saying that it needs one, that one is in progress, or that one has been completed. When the bmw’s did regens you saw black smoke then white smoke coming out of the exhausts. When I was trying to find my trunk one of the EcoDiesel test drove said dpf 75% full when I started it and told me to drive on the highway to start regen (worked out because I got a longer rest drive out of it! Haha ) so when it went into a regen getting on the highway a ton of white smoke starting billowing out the exhaust for a minute or two, is that normal? I’ve put probably about 8,000 miles on my truck and have not noticed it doing a regen once and I only drive on the highway 10% of the time and 90% of the time is spent backroads driving going 45mph to 55mph but I’ve never seen the rpm’s go up and stay over 2 rpms until the regen is done like the bmw did. An off topic question I have is what is the normal op