• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

New here. Soot in coolant tank

Ahaynes81

Jan 2, 2019
Truck Year
Hello I'm new to the ecodiesle community. Today I noticed that there is what looks like black soot on the walls of the coolant tank. Anyone have any ideas of what is the cause? I have a 2015 Laramie with 62,000 miles on it . Bought it used from the dealer black Friday weekend 2018. I hear it might be a egr cooler issue. Truck has been running great no codes or other issues. Mpg are mid 18's city driving.

Ahaynes81

Jan 2, 2019
Truck Year
Ok damn! I'm going to take it to the dealer tomorrow and see what they tell me. It must have just went out because my fluid leve is still full but my oil is really dark.

CaptainMal

Oct 26, 2015
Truck Year
Both or either. One thing issue. Stop operating and start a repair. Otherwise, engine trouble is on the horizon soon.

Ahaynes81

Jan 2, 2019
Truck Year
Both or either. One thing issue. Stop operating and start a repair. Otherwise, engine trouble is on the horizon soon.
I just got off the phone with the dealer and they said everything was fine that the black stuff I saw in the coolant reservoir was made by the purple coolant and they saw no signs of oil in the coolant and the oil cooler was working fine. I'm thinking of maybe taking it to the other dodge dealership across town.

CaptainMal

Oct 26, 2015
Truck Year