• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Oil change

R4L

Jun 15, 2021
Truck Year
I’ve read a lot of complaints about cost of oil changes at the shop. Not necessarily on this forum but others. I’m new to the ED but have always done the oil changes in my Hemi. Question: Is there something that makes it harder on the ED? What oil and filter do you run? Planning on doing my first oil change this week. 2017 Laramie 4x4. Thanks

BoostN

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Jul 27, 2013
Truck Year
Not Listed
Not harder, shops love to take advantage of a diesel, and up charge for it. Everything you need to know about oil changes:

Ironcity

Dec 16, 2020
Truck Year
Easiest vehicle I’ve ever had to change oil. I use Rotella T6 5/40. I use the Mopar oil filter. Make sure you get the updated one. I also put on a fumoto quick valve instead of the drain plug. No need to jack up the truck. Slide under and open the valve. So easy.

John Jensen

Mar 22, 2016
Truck Year
Like Ironcity said, the Eco is the easiest oil change of any vehicle I have owned, and I've owned several in my 86 years. There's a couple of things important, such as let it drain for a while as oil flow through the Eco is very slow.

Mopar # 68229402AA filter or a quality equivalent
10.5 quarts Shell Rotella T-6, Full Synthetic, 5w-40 or a quality equivalent
FCA changed to Shell Rotella T-6, 5w-40 (5th Edition Diesel Supplement, 7/2016)