• Welcome to EcoDieselRam.com We see you haven't REGISTERED yet.

Your truck knowledge is missing!
    • Registration is FREE , all we need is your birthday and email. (We don't share ANY data with ANYONE)
    • We have tons of knowledge here for your EcoDiesel truck!
    • Post your own topics and reply to existing threads to help others out!
    • We believe in quality OVER quantity, and a family friendly place for your #EcoDiesel home!
    CLICK HERE TO REGISTER! Problems registering? Click here to contact us!

Already registered, but need a PASSWORD RESET? CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD!

Hello everyone!

Theigh

Aug 7, 2019
Truck Year
My name is Tyrone, I am a licensed vehicle technician (Interprovincial Red Seal) with 30 years experience. I am also a NFPA certified fire investigator. I recently have been investigating a fire in a 2016 Ram 1500. While I am familiar with the mainstream Diesel engines, I have not worked or had any previous dealing with this engine. The owner reported seeing small amounts of smoke coming from the vents, but no fire under the hood. His first observation was a glow around the driver's footwell. The fuel system was replaced, due to poor diesel, and the owner had reported smelling smoke for a while. I have been reading the forums to see if my observations and photos potentially lead me to a more definitive cause.

Last edited:

cds13ca

Jun 19, 2019
Truck Year
Tyrone, keep us posted with your findings. There have been several fires reported, here's just a few... Is it an EGR stuck open, overheating the system? Is it a battery wire rubbing up against metal? It would be nice to know the cause so we can be proactive where possible and prevent it from happening if we know what to look for.

Theigh

Aug 7, 2019
Truck Year